Anticipating Italy

In a few weeks I have the opportunity to spend a few days in Italy!

I have been to Rome and Cinque Terre before, and on both occasions I spent my time sightseeing and enjoying my travelling companions.  This time I will be alone, and I will have seen the major ‘sights’.  I will be making the pilgrimage to Pompeii, and I think I might spend a night in Venice.  Otherwise, I will be alone.  In Rome.  Woe is me.

Not.

Therefore, I intend to spend much of my time sitting in piazzas, sitting on fountains, lounging on curbs, and watching people navigate ancient Roman streets.  I’m also really interested to see how the nature of Venetian ‘streets’ affect people.

In short, I’m going to spend some time with Italian public places past and present!

Does anybody have any favourite piazzas in Rome I should while away a few hours?  Any suggestions on diy walking tours of Pompeii (too cheap for a guide)?  Any good hotel suggestions in Venice (see previous aside about cheap)?

Watch this space for Italian musings in the next few weeks!

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Anticipating Italy

  1. Lyn says:

    My favourite is Piazza Navona

  2. Lyn says:

    Try the monastery at Giardini Venice. Great location. Great price. Safe

  3. sammobrien says:

    The Pompeii entrance ticket gives you a very detailed map and even a booklet on what each of the sites is. It’s a pretty thick book, really informative and makes it so easy to just guide yourself around 🙂

  4. Lyn says:

    here you go http://www.monasterystays.com/
    it is working fine, try it again Lyn

  5. Pingback: Around the Archaeology Blogosphere Digest #1 | Doug's Archaeology

Leave a Reply

