Setting my sights

People lounging on the Spanish Steps, Rome

People lounging on the Spanish Steps, Rome

How do people use public space?  Where does public space come from?  Can the ways people use public spaces now help us understand ancient public places like Stonehenge, Mayan plazas, or the Acropolis?  Can archaeological explorations of past public places help us design better modern parks and squares that will encourage communities to engage and take ownership of these spaces?

I think the answer to all these questions is yes.

I intend to use this space to clarify my thoughts on how the the public spaces I move through in my daily life, such as parks, museums, libraries, streets, overpasses, and subway stations, can help us understand the way people in the past might have organized and used their space.  On the flip side, I have lots of ideas of how modern cities and communities can use research I am doing on prehistoric public places in placemaking, to create sustainable and engaging neighbourhoods.

And so, this blog will be a mix of the archaeological and modern, and while my research is based in the Neolithic Middle East, I don’t intend to stay there, it will wander all over the world.  So stick with me while we explore parks and plazas, henges and monuments, ball courts and law courts.

I’m looking forward to it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

